Home > Uncategorized > New back beach video

New back beach video

I found a few spare shots from a recent trip to New Zealand that I hadn’t found a proper home for. I cut it together in about half an hour last night and the result is a pretty good approximation for what it felt like to walking along that prehistoric beach dragging my feet through the jet black sand. The beach’s name I have no idea, but New Plymouth locals call it the “back beach”.

Some of the shots are a little too long, but the colours are so vivid that I found it difficult to bring myself shorten them. I think the video is a great example of how brilliant the low light capability of the HV30 is. The footage is captured using a DOF adapter (which actually makes it a little harder sometimes to shoot in low light) so I’m absolutely thrilled that even with that light loss, the HV30 was able to step up to the mark. There are no complaints from me with regard to the HV30’s ability to capture magnificent low light scenes.

I’ve also performed zero colour correction and the master footage looks about 10 times better – I have yet to master compressor settings in FCP. This is straight off the camera, into FCP for some editing and straight out into Vimeo. I hope you like it.

Happy shooting.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment