Home > Uncategorized > Manfrotto 560B Monopod Video

Manfrotto 560B Monopod Video

Ok so it took me a week, but finally I managed to cut together a Manfrotto 560B monopod video comparison using my HV30 with/without the monopod. I think the results speak for themselves:

Manfrotto 560B Monopod Video

Manfrotto 560B Monopod Video

When I took these shots I had only just purchased the Manfrotto 560B, so I was by no means practiced with it’s use.  It was actually the first time I had put a camera on the top and gave it a whirl.

The stability and control you get from the 560B is very impressive. Sure you can still see a little shake in the corners of the screen, but compared to me attempting a handheld pan, using the monopod gives the stability of a tripod without the complications of three legs.

In the video I have preceded each segment with a label of whether I was using handheld or monopod, and I have tried to take (approximately) the same style of shot for ease of comparison.  One of the end shots is of a water bird (I think a Kingfisher) paddling around the shallows on its own. I left that in as I think it’s a very cute shot, but also demonstrates how the monpod assists in smoothly tracking moving subjects.  I was standing in the one spot when I took that particular shot, using the pan and lean of the 560B to help keep the bird in shot.

As an aside, last night I managed to fix my broken twoneil adapter and tried a few shots out with the monopod. As many will remember, my biggest challenge with the DIY DOF adapter was getting a decent shot that wasn’t ridiculously shaky.

I can say with confidence that anyone wanting to improve the stability of their shots while using a DIY DOF adapter without the need for a heavy tripod, should purchase the 560B immediately.

I will post up some new footage when I get back from holiday.  Hope you enjoy!  And of course, let me know whether it helps.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment